M.C. Vredenburg; Utrecht 1st May 1991

Taper : TheJez

Lineage : Sennheiser MKE-40 -> Sony WM-D6C -> TDK-SA tapes -> Denon tape deck -> Edirol UA-1EX USB analog input -> WAV (44.1kHz 16bit) -> Adobe Audition -> FLAC

Sound Quality : Audience

Length : 61.25

01. Intro
02. Interesting drug
03. Mute witness
04. Last of the famous international playboys
05. November spawned a monster
06. Will never mary
07. Sing your life
08. Asian rut
09. Pregnant for the last time
10. King Lear
11. Everyday is like Sunday
12. Our Frank
13. That's entertainment
14. I've changed my plea to guilty
15. Piccadilly palare
16. Suedehead
17. Trash
** 18. Cosmic dancer -> stripped out
** 19. Disappointed -> stripped out

As the tour progressed, Morrissey's new musicians were getting better and better. Song performances were improving with each new show. Morrissey must have been happy with this concert because he selected live recordings of songs from this set for release as b-sides (see 'official releases' further down). Morrissey was very energetic, he danced frantically throughout most of the faster songs. At some point into "November Spawned A Monster", he sat on the floor to shake hands with fans in the front rows. This didn't last long however because he was pulled towards the audience and had to be helped back up by security. He collapsed to the floor again during the song's instrumental bridge, but this time to illustrate the drama, making sure he stayed out of reach. At the beginning of "Sing Your Life", he picked up a tambourine and shook it for a few bars before throwing it into the audience. In "Pregnant For The Last Time", besides the usual lyric differences, he also sang "Bad advice for the last time and people being so nice for the last time" in place of the studio version's "Tiny stripe socks for the last time / Pokes and prods for the last time". Before "Our Frank", after saying "very kind thank you...", he booed.

After the performance of Morrissey's debut solo single "Suedehead", everyone left stage for a break. They were soon called back by the audience chanting Morrissey's name. Upon returning on stage the man asked the crowd "Does this mean one more song?" before the band launched into the cover of the New York Dolls' "Trash". After another short break, Boz reentered stage by himself and started playing the opening notes to T-Rex's "Cosmic Dancer". Morrissey came back just in time to sing the first words while his other musicians sat on the drum rise. After that everyone returned to their usual positions for set closer "Disappointed" which saw a handful of fans climb on stage as a last chance to touch their idol. Morrissey then ripped his shirt open, threw it into the audience, said thank you and that was it.

This concert was recorded and broadcast on Dutch radio station VPRO. The tracks were resequenced and in the process "Interesting Drug", "Suedehead" and "Trash" were dropped. The concert broadcast was preceded by a Morrissey interview.

There are incomplete and resequenced bootlegs of an FM broadcast of this gig circulating. This is an audience recording of the full show, except that the last two track have been stripped out due to Dime restrictions, as these have officially been released on the "Pregnant for the last time" 12" and CD releases.